Plant Pathology June 2017 eNews


On April 28th the department celebrated the amazing work of our faculty, staff, and students with our annual awards day. This year the department awarded a total of $11,397 to 29 award recipients. Read more >>

Hop Powdery Mildew VideoJosh Havill, M.S. student in the department advised by Angela Orshinsky, provides background about hop powdery mildew and ways to manage/prevent the disease in Minnesotan hopyards in this video. Read more >>


Plant Pathology Chen LabDr. Senyu Chen’s Nematology Program at the Southern Research and Outreach Center in Waseca continues to study soybean cyst nematode (SCN) biology and management. Get an update from the Chen Lab >>

Vergel Concibido was awarded the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus award from the Department of Plant Pathology. His former advisor Nevin Young nominated Vergel for this award. Read more >>


At this year's award ceremony the department recognized three of our staff for the excellent work they do. Read more about our three winners Kristen Cooper, Todd Burnes, and Beheshteh Zargaran and their achievements. Read more >>

Michelle Grabowski, UMN Extension Educator, discusses powdery mildew and how it might be affecting plants in your garden this spring.  Read the article in Extension's Yard and Garden News.

Congratulations to Austin Case who successfully completed his Ph.D. program earlier this month. Advised by Brian Steffenson, Case's thesis was titled Genetics, Sources, and Mapping Of Stem Rust Resistance In Barley. 

Congratulations to graduate student Justin Stanton who received a job offer from Bayer Crop Science as a "Graduate Scholar" in Champaign Illinois.  Read more >>

On May 9th the CFANS Honors and Awards Committee (HAC) selected the 2017 CFANS Award Recipients. Jim Bradeen was awarded the CFANS Distinguished Diversity and Inclusion Award and Dylan VanBoxtel was awarded the CFANS Civil Service Bargaining Unit (CSBU) Staff Award in the administrative category. 

The department has now publicly posted the videos from the department's seminar series. These videos can be found as a playlist on the department's YouTube channel. Read more >>

Planting Norman Borlaug Wheats The week of May 11th the inaugural planting of Norman Borlaug wheat around the Borlaug statue on the St. Paul campus took place, thanks to Brian Steffenson and students Karson Herfurth and Alex Broderius.

Congratulations to graduate student Deepak Haarith for receiving the Sigma Xi Drs. Charles and Dorothy Bird Award and a MnDrive Global Food Ventures Fellowship. Read more >>

The E.C. Stakman Award is granted to individuals of any country and nationality for outstanding achievements in plant pathology. The award may be given for documented achievements in the areas of research, teaching, outreach, international development or for any combination of these areas. Preference will be given to candidates actively engaged in these areas; only occasionally will lifetime achievement awards be considered. Information on past E.C. Stakman Award winners can be found at the Department of Plant Pathology webpage. Read more >>

Bob Blanchette writes about an amazing ganoderma with a fascinating history for Fungi Magazine. Historic Wonders of the Fungal World: the evil demon hand and Fungus digitatus. Read more >>