Plant Pathology News

Kasia Duellman is an assistant professor in the Extension Department and a Seed Potato Specialist at the University of Idaho. Duellman’s research focuses on all aspects of seed potato production, with the overall goal of improving quality. Specific emphasis is on pathogens important to seed potato production and seed health and to seed-related aspects of commercial potato production. Her extension program focuses on providing relevant, timely, science-based, non-biased information to growers and the industry. Duellman received her B.S., Arizona State University, 1989, M.S., University of Minnesota, 1993, and Ph.D., North Dakota State University, 2015. 

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today announced that Dr.
Brian Steffenson, Professor and Lieberman-Okinow Endowed Chair of Cereal Disease Research at the
University of Minnesota, is the 2019 recipient of the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award.
Steffenson is receiving the award for his renowned international agriculture research as well as his career-
long commitment to helping put his research into practice across the globe.

The bacterial canker pathogen is spread long distances and introduced to new areas through infected seed or transplants. The disease easily spreads between seedlings in a transplant production greenhouse through workers' hands, equipment, and pruning and clipping of transplants, so one infected seed can potentially result in many infected transplants, through which the disease can become established in high tunnels or fields.

Resent travel of students and faculty to SON Annual Meeting 2019, ICMPMI meeting, and more. It has been a busy summer! 


Congratulations to Crystal Langeberg and Marina McCuskey for being awarded the Finance and budget award during the 2019 CFANS Finance and Budget ‘FAB’ Awards

The Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Minnesota requests nominations for the E.C. Stakman
Award. The award is granted to individuals of any country and nationality for outstanding achievements in plant

The past 12 months have brought significant recognition for our students, staff, and faculty. In addition to nearly $25,000 in departmental awards supporting our mission (thank you, donors!), our students, staff, and faculty have earned university and national awards, underscoring their talents, passion, and accomplishments. 

On May 3rd the department celebrated the work of our faculty, staff, and students with our annual awards day. The day not only included an awards ceremony but also featured two undergraduate research presentations. Here is a list of this year's winners:

starting at 7 pm
Bell Museum, Nucleus
SciPride celebrates the scientific contributions of the UMN LGBTQA community.  We will hear a series of short scientific presentations that illustrate our impact on food, agriculture, and natural resource sciences. Congratulations to the students, postdocs, and staff presenting this year and Happy Pride!

On May 30th, 2019 we celebrated the retirement of Carol Ishimaru. Carol has been an esteemed member of the University of Minnesota for 15 years, and she will be greatly missed by students and colleagues alike.