Plant Pathology Awards Day 2017 Recap

May 31, 2017

Plant Pathology Awards Day 2017

On April 28th the department celebrated the amazing work of our faculty, staff, and students with our annual awards day. This year the department awarded a total of $11,397 to 29 award recipients. The day not only included an awards ceremony but also featured four undergraduate research presentations and more than 10 research posters were presented. Here is a list of this year's winners:

Alumni and Friends Awards

Friend of the Department
Alan Roelfs 

Distinguished Alumnus
Nora Altier
Vergel Concibido

Faculty and Staff Awards

Distinguished Mentor
Bob Blanchette

Professional and Academic (P&A) Award of Excellence
Kristen Cooper

Civil Service Award of Excellence
Todd Burnes
Beheshteh Zargaran

Graduate Student Awards

Ward C. Stienstra and Richard A. Meronuck Graduate Student Travel Awards
Garrett Beier (Fall 2016)
Mala Ganiger (Spring 2017)

M.F. Kernkamp Fellowship
Deepak Rajendran

Fred I. Frosheiser Scholarship
Andrew Sathoff

Dr. John Dueck Memorial Scholarship
Lillian McGilp

Dr. Carl & Johanna Eide Scholarship
Eric Otto

Undergraduate Research Presentations

"Machine Vision Phenotyping with RGB Image Processing"
Liz Sampson, Hirsch Lab

"Fungi Associated with Emerald Ash Borer in Minnesota"
Alissa Cotton, Blanchette Lab

"Fungi Associated with Tomato Seeds"
Eric Branch, Orshinsky Lab

"Composition and Competition: NPK fertilizer effects on endophyte community structure and function"
 Zoe Hansen and Seth Spawn, Kinkel Lab

Common Good Awards

Chana Johnston, Brett Arenz, Liam Genter, Yanghong Dong, Beheshteh Zararan, Madeline Harpell, Rebecca Curland, Kristen Opitz, Ryan McNally, Lillian Garber, Carol Ishimaru, Cory Hirsch, Leon Van Eck, Jim Kurle