Distinguished Alumnus Award

The award is to recognize alumni who have achieved distinction in their profession and who have also made significant contributions to the welfare of the Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Minnesota.

2017 Recipient: Vergel Concibido 

Plant Pathology Alumnus Vergel Concibido

Concibido received his Ph.D. in 1995 from the Department of Plant Pathology, his advisor Nevin Young noted in the nomination: "Beyond his impressive record of accomplishment working in industry on disease resistance breeding, Vergel remains highly engaged with the Department of Plant Pathology, serving for several years on the Stakman Award Selection Committee. Vergel deserves special recognition for his efforts to connect industry (Monsanto) research with public researchers, something that goes beyond typical industry practice."

2017 Recipient: Nora Altier

Nora 2.jpg

Altier received her M.S. in 1993, researching the development of a culture plate method to evaluate and select alfalfa germplasm for resistance to Pythium seedling diseasesand. In 1997, she received her Ph.D. doing research on epidemiological & ecological studies on fusarium crown & root diseases of birdsfoot trefoil in Uruguay & prospects for breeding resistance.

Past Recipients



2016 Brad Mogen
2015 Kathy Kromroy
2014 Mohammed Boulif
2013 None
2012 Kira L. Bowen
2011 Markus Andres
2010 Robert Noyd
2009 None
2008 None
2007 Barbara Christ
2006 Phillip Berger
2005 George Hudler
2004 David Rizzo
2003 Al Ellingboe
2002 Paul Manion
2001 Eugene Hayden
2000 Mike Wingfield
1999 Mary Palm
1998 Dr. Bent Skovmand
1997 Dr. Barry Jacobsen
1996 None
1995 None
1994 Craig Grau
1993 Carols M. Ochoa