Fred I. Frosheiser Scholarship

This scholarship was established in honor of former Professor F.I. Frosheiser to recognize full-time graduate students enrolled in the Department of Plant Pathology.

2017 Recipient: Andrew Sathoff

Plant Pathology Graduate Student Andrew Sathoff  

Sathoff's research focuses on improving alfalfa resistance to the crown rot disease complex. Currently, there are no available cultivars with resistance to crown rot or fungicides with the required persistent root and crown activity. He tests plant defensins for their antimicrobial activity against crown rot. Additionally, he is characterizing transgenic promoters that have pathogen-induced expression. The long-term goal of his research is to express the most active defensin with the transgenic promoters to create an alfalfa line with increased broad-spectrum resistance to crown rot.

Past Recipients



2016 Austin Case
2015 Sara Bratsch
2014 Adil Essarioui
2013 Michelle Grabowski
2012 Dimitre Mollov
2011 Jon Menke
2010 Benjamin Held
2009 Ji-Hyun Park
2008 John Bienapfl
2007 Ann Impulliti
2006 Carmen Gavin Venegas
2005 Ryan Blaedow
2000 Alan Dyer
1999 Rhoda L . Burrows
1998 Warren Kruger
1997 Tsitsi Ndowora
1996 Akhilesh N. Misra

Online Giving

Support this fund through your online donations here.