Friend of the Department

2016 Friend of the Department Award Winner Bob MunsonThis award recognizes persons who may not be alumni of the Department but who have made significant contributions to the welfare of the Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Minnesota.

2016 Recipient: Bob Munson

Bob Munson has been an engaged and enthusiastic supporter of plant health solutions to food security challenges. He has advised, in an informal capacity, on research priority areas for the Stakman-Borlaug Center (SBC) for Sustainable Plant Health, has advocated for institutional support of SBC efforts to College and University leaders, and has sought philanthropic financial support for the SBC. Bob has been instrumental in strategic planning for the SBC, helping us develop a ‘hard hitting’ message to attract support. For advocacy of the SBC and plant health teaching and research, Bob Munson deserves the Friend of the Department Award.

Past Recipients



2015 Don, Sandy and Drew Henry
2014 Eugene Hayden
2013 Mark Stennes
2012 Elisabeth Kaplan
2011 Larry J. Smith
2010 None
2009 Jerry Kruger
2008 Carol VanWhy
2007 Susan Tertell
2006 Robin Hanks
2005 Faye Kommedahl & Laura Weigrad
2004 Kim Mogen & Brad Mogen
2003 Tim Carver & Ann Bushnell
2002 None
2001 Tom Anderson
2000 None
1999 None
1998 Elizabeth Ozman & Mark Stennes
1997 John McCain & Barbara Anderson