M.F. Kernkamp Scholarship

2016 M.F. Kernkamp Fellowship Winner Jordan Briggs

This fellowship was established in honor of former Professor and Head M.F. Kernkamp to recognize outstanding students of the Department of Plant Pathology at Minnesota. It is a cash award ($1,000), given only once to a specific recipient. Students are eligible for only one departmental fellowship/scholarship per year.

2016 Recipient: Jordan Briggs

Briggs' research focuses on identification of conserved patterns of gene expression following infection of rust pathogens in many different species and identification of stem rust resistance genes in wheat. The title of his thesis is "Conserved Mechanisms of Rust Infection".

Past Recipients



2015 Nick LeBlanc
2014 Jordan Briggs
2013 Sara Bratsch / Melanie Moore
2012 None
2011 Daniel Schlatter
2010 Ryan Syverson
2009 Gregory Reynolds
2008 Pravin Gautam
2007 Ben Alsop
2006 Carlos Perez
2005 Ed Quirin 
2000 Silvia Pereyra
1999 Consuelo Estevez de Jensen
1998 Laszlo Gyenis
1997 Silvia Penuela
1996 J. Patrick Martinez

Online Giving

Support this fund through your online donations here