Departmental News

The annual meeting of the American Phytopathological Society (APS) was held in Pasadena, CA this year (July 31 to August 5).  Attended by approximately 1,500 plant pathologists, the meeting included numerous workshops, field trips, and training and networking opportunities, in addition to scientific talks and posters. In total, 26 Plant Pathology faculty, postdocs, staff, and students authored or co-authored poster or gave oral presentations at this meeting.

In order to learn more about how barley resists disease, Graduate Student Matthew Haas analyzes its genetic profile. Current technologies allow researchers like Haas to observe hereditary information that resides within a plant’s DNA. A plant’s DNA comprises billions of nucleotide building blocks and Haas utilizes tools that allow him to efficiently and accurately provide biological meaning to this information by understanding which genes or genetic relationships allow a plant to recognize and resist pathogens. “Since the barley genome is almost twice the size of the human genome, methods of reducing data complexity are essential for being able to draw meaningful conclusions,” says Haas.

PLPA graduate student Feng Li was awarded a MnDRIVE Global Food Ventures Graduate Fellowship.

The Department of Plant Pathology had a strong showing at the North Central American Phytopathological Society (NCAPS) meeting in East Lansing, MI on June 11-12.

Senior Marissa Scherven of Soybean Pathology, advised by Dr. James Kurle, was among the 104 undergraduate students that were accepted to present research at the 2015 Winchell Undergraduate Science Symposium on April 25th.

This fellowship is awarded to University of Minnesota Doctoral Dissertation Fellows who have been accepted to present their research at national or international conference.

Dean Malvick, associate professor in the Deparment of Plant Pathology has been awarded the Distinguished Extension/Outreach Award. 

In collaboration with the Zooniverse @ UMN project and the University Libraries, the Department of Plant Pathology sponsored a workshop discussing the utilization of citizen science to help solve research problems.

PhD graduate student, Joshua Kielsmeier-Cook has been awarded the University of Minnesota's prestigious Stanwood Johnston Fellowship for the 2015-2016 academic year. 


Share Your News

Whether you are currently affiliated with Plant Pathology or you are an alumnus, we want to hear your recent news or story ideas. Share your news here.