Graduate Student Handbook

The Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Minnesota has one of the longest, most broad-ranging, and most successful graduate education programs in plant pathology in the world.

Since 1905, when the University’s first Ph.D. in plant pathology was awarded, more than 400 Ph.D. and 400 M.S. students have graduated. Alumni and faculty from the department include a winner of the Nobel Peace prize (Norman Borlaug, 1970), a Knight in Denmark (Bent Skovmand, 2003), and thirteen Presidents of the American Phytopathological Society. In the 2007-2008 academic year, our Department celebrated its 100th anniversary (1907-2007), and the American

Phytopathological Society celebrated its centennial (1908-2008) by holding the APS National Meeting in Minneapolis.

Download PDF handbook